Duties of a Supplier Quality Engineer? Graduate Industrial Engineer Needs Help

T

thisissteve

Hello, I am a graduate student in Industrial Engineering and have recently started my job search. I have a degree in electrical engineering and 3 yrs of experience in design, reliability, and project management (Electronics). Even though I have not worked much in quality field, I have a good understanding about it through course work. So, I have couple of interviews on my schedule. Can someone educate me about duties of a supplier quality engineer? Most of the prospective employers need someone with lot of experience and I as mentioned before I am a novice in this field. I hope you veterans in Quality can give me some advice.
:thanx:

Wes Bucey

Prophet of Profit
First, welcome to the Cove! bigwave-d2.gif
Second, let me congratulate you on getting interviews! That's often the biggest hurdle - just getting in front of someone to make the case for getting hired.

As to Supplier Quality Engineer (or Assurance), a large part of the task is dependent on the industry and the specific product types you'll deal with. There are basic activities common to all SQEs and SQAs
I lifted these from a job ad and eliminated the industry-specific stuff:
Responsible for developing and strengthening Supplier Management Programs.

• Continually work with suppliers to improve performance, implement process control and quality plans
  • Interact routinely with Purchasing, Engineering and Suppliers to pro actively improve quality of components.
  • Analyze supplier capabilities. Develop and maintain supplier quality metrics.
  • Perform supplier Quality Systems audits and provide support for supplier Quality Systems improvements.
  • Work with project work teams to define project deliverables, project planning, etc.
  • Develop new work processes, new tools and functional capabilities. Maintain and improve existing quality systems processes.