ISO 9001 Implementation - Quality Manual is Dreary! Documentation Requirements

S

Sweetsue28uk

I have now been given the instruction that we need to be ready for ISO 9001:2008 by Christmas. I have only just introduced a new document management system on Sharepoint and currently trying to get that in some sort of legible order. I have reviewed processes and we have very little so a lot of them need to be written from scratch and then rolled out to the masses.

How long do processes have to be in place before an audit can take place on them?

We have no customer Focus or any sort of way to catch customer satisfaction or complaints so a new system needs to be introduced and a way to capture this information - any ideas? How long does this need to be in placed before an audit can take place.

I have documented what I have done so far in the Quality Manual but Oh my lord it is a dreary read. I have stuck to the standard as a template because this is my first time of writing a manual and I didn't want to get it wrong but even I am bored by it. Do you have any examples of more up to date, light weight manuals that I could have a look at to see if I can structure mine better and make it less well dreary!

Uphill struggle, only 2 of us in the department, little to no management assistance and it is like swimming through mud!

Any help would be more than appreciated.

Sue:mg:

P

Peter West

Hi Sue,

Sounds like quite a few people's situations. Firstly if there is no management support the whole QMS is instantly flawed.

That would be your first area to concentrate in. Procedures and processes vary company to company. I am sure some have been created and rolled out in weeks but those that I am involved with interconnect and so we ensure all is in place before releasing tidbits that may not necessarily make sense on their own.