Minitab error: Zero or negative degrees of freedom

P

Pergula

Hello all!

When doing a balanced ANOVA I get the error:
* ERROR * Zero or negative degrees of freedom.

Here is what it is being done by me:

I am new to MiniTab Software and familiar with basics of statistics. I know what a balanced ANOVA is and what a model is and how it should be written.
I did some tutorials on how to use MiniTab etc.
Ok, so much on my background.

I am using sample data from SEMI E89 RI 4 and am trying to repeat the analysis as it is described in there with Minitab. Having failed with the premade analysis options in Minitab (the part-to-part variance is killing the results!?) I went back to the old fashioned way of just doing a balanced ANOVA and entering all the factors and terms myself.

the model proposed is
Thickness(hkji) = mu + day(h) + wafer(k) + wd(kh) + cycle(hkj) + repeat(hkji) + e(hji)
mu..grand mean
day(h)..effect of h days
wafer(k)..effect of k wafer values (its a thickness)
wd(hk)..effect of wafer by day interaction
cycle(hkj)..effect of j cycle nested in day and wafer
repeat(hkji)..effect of i repeats nested in cycle, wafer and day
e(hji)..residual effects

So this is a crossed and nested model. I use the dialog:
stat > ANOVA > balanced ANOVA

The following are the set parameters:
Response: Thickness
Model: Wafer Day Wafer* Day Cycle( Day Wafer) Repeat( Wafer Day Cycle)
Random factors: Wafer Cycle Repeat
Options: use restricted form of model - no

The data is balanced and arranged as required (it worked for other tests with the premade MSA analysis).

Ok having done all this I get the following error message:
* ERROR * Zero or negative degrees of freedom.

The only way it seems to work is when I drop the factor repeat completely out of the model.*:( However, I do need to get this component somehow.

Unfortunately I have found nothing on the web, the help files or this forum yet. If anyone can point me into the right direction on this I would be more than grateful!