The Cove Business Standards Discussion Forums More Free Files Forum Discussion Thread Post Attachments Listing Cove Discussion Forums Main Page
Miner's MSA (Measurement Systems Analysis) Blog
Go Back   The Elsmar Cove Business Systems and Standards Discussion Forums > Common Quality Assurance Processes and Tools > Quality Tools, Improvement and Analysis > Quality Assurance and Compliance Software Tools / Solutions > Using Minitab Software
Forum Username

Elsmar Cove Forum Visitor Notice(s)

Wooden Line

Displaying Multiple Graphs in the Same Plot with Minitab

Elsmar XML RSS Feed
Elsmar Cove Forum RSS Feed

Monitor the Elsmar Forum
Courtesy Quick Links

Links that Cove visitors will find useful in your quest for knowledge:


ASQ - American Society for Quality

International Standards Organization - ISO Standards and Information

Atul's
Quality Forum Online

Howard's
International Quality Services

Marcelo Antunes'
SQR Consulting, and
Medical Devices Expert Forum

Bob Doering
Bob Doering's Blogs and,
Correct SPC - Precision Machining

NIST's Engineering Statistics Handbook

IRCA - International Register of Certified Auditors

SAE - Society of Automotive Engineers

Quality Digest

IEST - Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology


Related LinkedIn Groups

ISO 9001 for Small Businesses

ISO 9001:2015 Revision Discussions

Information Security Community

Medical Devices Group

Quality and Regulatory Network

FDA (Food and Drugs)

AS91XX Series - Tips and Advice


Related Topic Tags
minitab (statistical analysis software), statistical analysis and studies, i-mr chart, control charts (general)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Content Display Modes
  Post Number #1  
Old 3rd November 2011, 10:31 AM
angr76

 
 
Total Posts: 2
Please Help! Displaying Multiple Graphs in the Same Plot with Minitab

Hello,

I have two subgroups of data in Minitab 16. I'd like to plot the data in a control chart type, I-MR, and then have both graphs for the two subgroups in the same plot. They share the same X values, so I just want to overlay them. How do I do this?

Grateful for all suggestions!

Sponsored Links
  Post Number #2  
Old 3rd November 2011, 01:43 PM
Miner's Avatar
Miner

 
 
Total Posts: 3,769
Look! Re: Displaying Multiple Graphs in the Same Plot with Minitab

I have not found a way to do this in the Imr chart menu. You could manually create this in the Scatterplot menu, but it would be tedious.
Sponsored Links

  Post Number #3  
Old 4th November 2011, 03:35 AM
angr76

 
 
Total Posts: 2
Re: Displaying Multiple Graphs in the Same Plot with Minitab

Thanks for the reply. I thought it'd be tricky and appreciate that I wasn't too far off in my thoughts.
  Post Number #4  
Old 4th November 2011, 07:38 AM
Allattar

 
 
Total Posts: 234
Re: Displaying Multiple Graphs in the Same Plot with Minitab

Its not impossible and you have varying ways of doing this.

Easy methods,
create both charts call up the layout tool from the editor menu and put them on the same page. It does not overlay but you can display them side by side or one above the other.

They are I charts, so we can use a Time series. Go to the time series plot, choose multiple, enter both columns. Job done
The data must be in seperate columns to display correctly.
You can add reference lines to put the control limits on, if by some lucky chance they share the same values for UCL and LCL.

Complex method.
This wont work for I-MR only I charts. The following only works for graphs that can update, but you can use if for anything.

Create both I charts.
Select one chart and edit the background and data colour to be none. For easy aligning of the charts delete the control limits lables and centre line labels.

Select the chart that you have not fixed the background as none. Go to editor and copy command language.

Open up notepad and paste this into notepad
Select the second chart, the one with the background and data region set to none. Go to Editor and copy command language.
Paste this under the commands for the first chart.

At the top of the notepad file before the graph commands type LAYOUT, at the end after all commands type ENDLAYOUT.

Copy all the text and in Minitab press CTRL+L to call up the command line editor. Paste the text in and run the commands

The graphs will be overlaid. But they probably dont line up very nicely.

You can add a DATA subcommand to specify data region positions within each set of commands for a chart.
For example
Data 0.1615 0.9531 0.1797 0.9115;
added amongst the graph commands specifies the size and location of the data region. You can fix this to the same value for both charts to ensure the data regions are the same.

You probabaly want to remove the Y axis labels as well on each chart to tidy it up.

Its possible to then save these commands in a macro for future use as well.

Personally I would run the time series plot unless it was really essential to use the I chart.
Thank You to Allattar for your informative Post and/or Attachment!
  Post Number #5  
Old 12th November 2011, 04:25 AM
fjexpo

 
 
Total Posts: 1
Re: Displaying Multiple Graphs in the Same Plot with Minitab

I prefer put background as "none" (for any graph and send to Power Point / Word. There you can move, fix, etc. Previously you can set Y axis to be fixed manually, not automatically in order to control and fix the Y scale.

Best regards,
Javier

Quote:
In Reply to Parent Post by Allattar View Post

Its not impossible and you have varying ways of doing this.

Easy methods,
create both charts call up the layout tool from the editor menu and put them on the same page. It does not overlay but you can display them side by side or one above the other.

They are I charts, so we can use a Time series. Go to the time series plot, choose multiple, enter both columns. Job done
The data must be in seperate columns to display correctly.
You can add reference lines to put the control limits on, if by some lucky chance they share the same values for UCL and LCL.

Complex method.
This wont work for I-MR only I charts. The following only works for graphs that can update, but you can use if for anything.

Create both I charts.
Select one chart and edit the background and data colour to be none. For easy aligning of the charts delete the control limits lables and centre line labels.

Select the chart that you have not fixed the background as none. Go to editor and copy command language.

Open up notepad and paste this into notepad
Select the second chart, the one with the background and data region set to none. Go to Editor and copy command language.
Paste this under the commands for the first chart.

At the top of the notepad file before the graph commands type LAYOUT, at the end after all commands type ENDLAYOUT.

Copy all the text and in Minitab press CTRL+L to call up the command line editor. Paste the text in and run the commands

The graphs will be overlaid. But they probably dont line up very nicely.

You can add a DATA subcommand to specify data region positions within each set of commands for a chart.
For example
Data 0.1615 0.9531 0.1797 0.9115;
added amongst the graph commands specifies the size and location of the data region. You can fix this to the same value for both charts to ensure the data regions are the same.

You probabaly want to remove the Y axis labels as well on each chart to tidy it up.

Its possible to then save these commands in a macro for future use as well.

Personally I would run the time series plot unless it was really essential to use the I chart.
Reply

Lower Navigation Bar
Go Back   The Elsmar Cove Business Systems and Standards Discussion Forums > Common Quality Assurance Processes and Tools > Quality Tools, Improvement and Analysis > Quality Assurance and Compliance Software Tools / Solutions > Using Minitab Software


Visitors Currently Viewing this Thread: 1 (0 Registered Visitors (Members) and 1 Unregistered Guest Visitors)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Forum Search
Display Modes Rate Thread Content
Rate Thread Content:

Forum Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Discussion Threads
Discussion Thread Title Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post or Poll Vote
Customizing the order in which the graphs are printed in Minitab question tbrunink Software Quality Assurance 1 16th September 2011 02:52 PM
Refreshing Graphs and Minitab Templates pjkbd Using Minitab Software 5 2nd September 2011 04:21 AM
Weibull Plot With Minitab QE Using Minitab Software 1 2nd November 2009 05:11 AM
Displaying Date and Day in Minitab Michaelk Using Minitab Software 3 23rd December 2007 12:05 PM
How do I get 4 Graphs per Page? Multiple Capability Histograms that span 5 pages Coolboy55 Using Minitab Software 3 24th August 2007 12:36 PM



The time now is 03:56 AM. All times are GMT -4.
Your time zone can be changed in your UserCP --> Options.


 


NOTE: This forum uses "Cookies" -- The Elsmar Cove is *Copyright Free*.
A Peachfarm LLC Internet Property