Elsmar Cove Forum Header Graphic The Elsmar Cove Wiki More Free Files The Elsmar Cove Forums Discussion Thread Index Post Attachments Listing Failure Modes Services and Solutions to Problems Elsmar cove Forums Main Page Elsmar Cove Home Page
Miner's MSA (Measurement Systems Analysis) Blog 
Go Back   The Elsmar Cove Forum > Common Quality Assurance Processes and Tools > Quality Tools, Improvement and Analysis > Quality Assurance and Compliance Software Tools / Solutions
Forum Username

Wooden Line

Problems with Gage InSite Enterprise software - Hiccups

Wooden Line
Search the Elsmar Cove
Search Elsmar
Monitor the Elsmar Forum
Follow Marc & Elsmar
Elsmar Cove Forum RSS Feed  Marc Smith's Google+ Page  Marc Smith's Linked In Page   Marc Smith's Elsmar Cove YouTube Page  Marc Smith's Facebook Page  Elsmar Cove Twitter Feed
Elsmar Cove Groups
Elsmar Cove Google+ Group  Elsmar Cove LinkedIn Group  Elsmar Cove Facebook Group
Donate and $ Contributor Forum Access
Courtesy Quick Links

Links that Elsmar Cove visitors will find useful in your quest for knowledge:

Howard's
International Quality Services
Marcelo Antunes'
SQR Consulting
Bob Doering's
Correct SPC - Precision Machining

NIST's Engineering Statistics Handbook
IRCA - International Register of Certified Auditors
SAE - Society of Automotive Engineers
Quality Digest Portal
IEST - Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology
ASQ - American Society for Quality

Related Topic Tags
calibration (metrology) laboratories, calibration software, metrology laboratories, software tools (for qa statistics doc control etc.)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd September 2004, 02:19 PM
AngelaC

 
 
Posts: 4
Question Problems with Gage InSite Enterprise software? "Hiccups"

Our metrology lab purchased Gage InSite Enterprise with the three-tier server option. (We also have the Uncertainty Module and a module that handles invoicing.) The three-tier version allows our customers to access their equipment records via WAN.

I do not want to make negative remarks about a product in a public forum, but I must admit that we have experienced "hiccups."

I am curious to hear if other calibration labs use this software and whether they have experienced any problems? I would also be interested to hear if any calibration service users have purchased calibration services from a lab that utilizes Gage InSite and whether they have encountered any problems?

Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd September 2004, 03:18 PM
Marc's Avatar
Marc

 
 
Posts: 24,325
I'm not sure why you would not want to say what the problem(s) are in a public forum - It might even save someone from buying that software or knowing that others are having similar problems.

I haven't used it, but I am curiouse what "hiccups" you've been having. It might even be network problems and not the software.
Sponsored Links

  #3  
Old 8th September 2004, 03:47 PM
Graeme's Avatar
Graeme

 
 
Posts: 428
Quote:
In Reply to Parent Post by AngelaC

Our metrology lab purchased Gage InSite Enterprise with the three-tier server option. (We also have the Uncertainty Module and a module that handles invoicing.) The three-tier version allows our customers to access their equipment records via WAN.

... I am curious to hear if other calibration labs use this software and whether they have experienced any problems?
AngelaC,

The cal lab I am working with (as a contractor) has been using Gage InSite for over 3 years. We have the enterprise version but I don't know about the three-tier stuff. I know our system does not communicate outside the confines of our own lab. (We would like it to, but the thundering voice of corporate IT always says "NO!") I am not sure about the uncertainty module, but we do have one for calibration interval analysis.

We have had occasional problems, of course - I have yet to see any software that does not have many opportunities for improvement. We have found the people at IndySoft to be very responsive and great to work with. The lab supervisor is the one who deals with that end of it. Overall - it is an excellent system for us.
  #4  
Old 5th October 2004, 04:02 PM
ceetee

 
 
Posts: 6
Let Me Help You Problems with Gage InSite Enterprise software? "Hiccups"

Angela,

I am a senior level developer with IndySoft Corporation and happened upon your thread here today. I also take an active part in ensuring our support system helps all of our customers so naturally I am inclined to ask further about your situation. I sincerely hope your company has contacted IndySoft support to address any concerns.

I am unaware of which company you are with but encourage you to use one of our support channels to contact IndySoft to resolve your issues. Our commitment is to ensure our customers are productive with our software solutions.

http://www.indysoft.com/request-support.htm

I can tell you that this week there was a new build released to address three tier issues. There was an issue with the vendor that supplies our core three-tier technology that manifested itself in a few different ways.

If for any reason you feel your needs are not being properly addressed, feel free to email customercare@indysoft.com with your concerns.

Thank you,

Charles R. Thompson
IndySoft Corporation
  #5  
Old 27th January 2006, 12:23 PM
CalRich's Avatar
CalRich

 
 
Posts: 124
Although these previous posts are a bit old, I have something to add. Gage Insite is really an amazing peiece of software and has positively changed the work in our lab. We have had our problems and "hiccups"... but usually, the problem is caused by the user. When my technicians come and relate some Insite problem, I look at it and tell them, "It did exactly what you told it to do!"
The important thing is that if a company is using the Enterprise version or the Commercial Lab Ed.... or have complicated things like the uncertainty module or connecting to equipment via RS-232, you have to have a person working almost full time just on Gage Insite. We've been using it one year and have yet to touch the Uncertainty module. There's so much in the software... it takes a long time to tweak everything to suit your needs. Gage Insite has a lot of features that you need, but you didn't know you needed.
Their support is quite good, although I've had to wait some time before getting to the real solution. Email and phone support do not compare to a live person. Unfortunately, that's not possible. That's why you have to have an internal employee dedicated to it, at least while the program is being implemented in your company.
  #6  
Old 10th May 2006, 01:05 PM
Super20G's Avatar
Super20G

 
 
Posts: 8
Yin Yang Good Features - Unless You Want To Use Them...

I agree. If you are implementing Enterprise, CLE, 2-tier...3-tier, or similar, you MUST have a FULL-TIME employee on staff that is skilled and/or CSCI degree holding to make proper use of this software package.

Unfortunately, Indysoft tech support is lacking and I would advise against anyone purchasing their 'latest and greatest' until some of the many reported bugs are resolved.

While the software is robust, we have lost more money than the purchase cost durring implementation. The loss stems from time invested on issues on their end, software flaws allowing data loss, etc.

All in all, someday, if more focus is put on improving their software, it could be something great, until then, we will continue to struggle with the decision we made.

Question/Comments: Drop us a note.

Last edited by Super20G; 11th May 2006 at 11:40 AM.
  #7  
Old 21st May 2006, 11:22 PM
Graeme's Avatar
Graeme

 
 
Posts: 428
Super20G - Please see my reply to your essentially similar message in the ISO 17025 forum.
  #8  
Old 26th February 2007, 02:01 PM
brickard

 
 
Posts: 1
Re: Problems with Gage InSite Enterprise software - Hiccups

I also would have to agree with the previous posters that this software requires IT employee(s) to stay dedicated to implementing it for quite awhile...

Send me a private message or email if anyone wants to discuss this software, quite possibly whatever another user's issues are, I have already came across and might be able to help out... or atleast discuss / confirm.

Edit:I have not implemented the enterprise version and have only a little 'hands on' experience with it. I have tons of experience with IndySoft's CLE version, which appears at face value to be basically the same as the enterprise version plus a few other commercial lab specific add ons [but it turns out that is not quite accurate due to the different needs/requirements/backend of enterprise rollouts].

Last edited by brickard; 27th February 2007 at 04:37 PM.
Reply

Lower Navigation Bar
Go Back   The Elsmar Cove Forum > Common Quality Assurance Processes and Tools > Quality Tools, Improvement and Analysis > Quality Assurance and Compliance Software Tools / Solutions

Do you find this discussion thread helpful and informational?


Bookmarks


Visitors Currently Viewing this Thread: 1 (0 Registered Visitors (Members) and 1 Unregistered Guest Visitors)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Forum Search
Display Modes Rate Thread Content
Rate Thread Content:

Forum Posting Settings
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Discussion Threads
Discussion Thread Title Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post or Poll Vote
ERP (Enterprise Resource Planning) Manufacturing Software Recommendations Stijloor Manufacturing and Related Processes 3 30th November 2010 11:46 AM
IQMS Enterprise Resource Planning Software Validation rogerheffington Excel .xls Spreadsheet Templates and Tools 5 5th October 2010 04:22 PM
Work Instructions for ERP (Enterprise Resource Planning) software niteshrs Process Maps, Process Mapping and Turtle Diagrams 3 3rd April 2010 11:19 AM
Experiences on the use of Business Enterprise software for the Quality Management Vicman Quality Assurance and Compliance Software Tools / Solutions 3 1st August 2006 07:22 AM
Enterprise change management control system software - Medical Devices aqajrc Quality Assurance and Compliance Software Tools / Solutions 0 15th July 2004 06:30 PM



The time now is 02:55 AM. All times are GMT -4.
Your time zone can be changed in your UserCP --> Options.


   


Marc Timothy Smith - Elsmar.com
8466 LeSourdsville-West Chester Road, Olde West Chester, Ohio 45069-1929
513 341-6272
NOTE: This forum uses "cookies".