Battery Powered Device - MOP and Patient Auxiliary Currents

T

Techy101

Hello,

First let me qualify all of this and say I am a young (professionally, not age) engineer and this is my first time designing for these types of standards. It has been and continues to be quite overwhelming but I am working my way through it. Finding this forum the other day has been wonderful and a huge source of information that helped clear up other questions I was going to be adding to this post.

I am designing a product and having difficulty understanding how to apply MOOP/MOPP rules in my circumstance. The device is table-top, stand-alone, and powered by 4x NiMH rechargeable batteries. They are charged outside of the device and the device itself it has no possible connection to mains and it has no electrical connection to any other devices. The device is an iontophoretic stimulator which delivers a drug to a patient via a constant current and has four galvanically isolated outputs for delivering to four sites simultaneously, each site with its own return electrode. The positive electrode itself sits at the top of a capsule which is then filled with a solution of the desired drug. The electrode itself doesn’t actually contact the patient skin, the connection is made through the solution. (Section 8.7.4.7 (f) would apply). It is for use in a doctor’s office environment only and is, more or less, an accessory to a larger device we sell.

As I said, the device is powered by four NiMH batteries in series. The batteries supply the MCU and UI system as well as a pair of load switches, controlled by the MCU, which enable battery power to four flyback converters when a treatment has been initiated. These flybacks are used to step the voltage up to 120VDC, supplying a low-side constant current source for patient stimulation.

My confusion lies in the fact that this type of system doesn’t seem to be well defined in section 8 of 60601-1 and my questions are: