Device Registration Terminology in EUDAMED

AngelRose

Junior QARA
Hi guys!
I'm fairly new to the regulatory field and was recently asked to start registering our Basic UDI-DIs and eventually the single UDI-DIs for different models of the family of devices.

I wanted your opinion/interpretation of some of the information I'm required to enter as to avoid making false declarations.
1.) Professional Testing - Unfortunately I'm unable to find an exact definition of what professional testing means. I assume it means that the device is used by a trained professional and that it intends on quantifying something and providing a diagnostic result. I'd like to hear your interpretation on this.
2.) Is the device directly marked? - The UDI system has yet to be implemented on our company, but we plan on voluntarily adding UDI DataMatrix/Barcodes on the labels of our products (even though we're still not required to). Do I have to select "No" to this section and change accordingly once we do?
3.) Is the device designed and manufactured by another legal or natural person? - Some of our devices are designed by and manufactured in another country outside of the EU: we change some components and market said device under our name and trademark. Assuming we're still compliant to RUE 2017/746 in regards to manufacturer obligations, do we still have to declare the information of the original manufacturer?

I'm also perplexed as to when and where UDIs (UDI-DI + UDI-PI) are supposed to be declared. Can someone kindly clarify?
Thank you in advance!

yodon

Leader
Super Moderator
We may need some more context for these. I can make a _guess_ on the first one:

1.) Professional Testing - Unfortunately I'm unable to find an exact definition of what professional testing means. I assume it means that the device is used by a trained professional and that it intends on quantifying something and providing a diagnostic result. I'd like to hear your interpretation on this.