IEC 61010-1 Certification Requirements, and External Supply/ELV questions

B

bruj02

Dear Cove,

I am new to the world of compliance and certification. Over the past few days, I have done a lot of research, met or spoken to representatives from various NRTLs, and scoured this forum for answers.
I would first like to express my gratitude, as I have found lots of useful info here. However, I still have lots of unanswered questions, and would really appreciate your input to confirm my some of my findings and and answer some questions.

Background:
We manufacture very specialized laboratory equipment, in low quantities. We intend on selling this equipment throughout the world. Major markets are U.S., Europe, Asia and Canada.
According to an evaluation by TUV SUD America, the product we are building falls under 61010-1, a harmonized standard. This is a good thing because UL/CSA/IEC all work with the same guidelines and requirements. We could even obtain a CB scheme, a type of Certification passport to makes it easier to recognize the certification across the world.
We designed the product to work off an external power supply, 24VDC - 220W. The external supply has all the certifications (UL, TUV, CE, ETL) We chose to work with an external AC/DC adapter to facilitate safety compliance.
The only reason we are interested in certification is for safety/legal reasons. I mention this because I feel that many people have tried to mislead us into believing that product certification is required for sale in the US/Canada, while other have told us that, since our input is extra low voltage, certification was optional. I understand that a UL mark can be a good tool for marketing purposes, or that WalMart will not accept non-UL-Listed parts, but this do not apply to our product and market context.