Mother bobbin final inspection criteria

ilkinsan

Registered
Hello,

I am responsible to build a final inspection criteria for supplier of bobbin based paper. I am studying on ISO 3951 sampling procedures for inspection by variables. I hope you can guide me.

Here is a little bit of background;

1) At first, the batch is produced at supplier along web application.
Imagine a `mother reel' wrapped on a tube with 100cm width and 2000meter of web plastic in length.

2) Then, each mother reel is slit into 20 smaller bobbins which we receive into factory.
Each bobbin is now with 5cm width and 100meter length. In other words, 400bobbin per each mother reel.

3) We let supplier to release/ship the batch based on 5 different variables (numeric value, not attribute) with sampling plan AQL 2.5%, Normal Inspection, General Level II.

For 400 bobbin, we ask suppliers to take 30 bobbin (with k factor=1.471) and measure first 50cm from the end of the each bobbin. (I know the last part is a bit modified version of ISO).
Everything works well and there are also some incoming inspection process in place.
(By the way, please let me know if there is something can be improved).

However, nowadays some supplier suggest to perform the inspection of some variables on the mother reel itself, not necessarily on slitted bobbins - which make sense while considering the workload behind for them. This is also fine for me based on some experiments show that those variables are not affected by sliting/converting process.
Final width must be measured on slited smaller bobbins, but thickness can be also measured on mother reel. It is not affected by cutting process.

My question is how I should define the final inspection criteria at mother reel level. - for thickness for instance?

There are some limitations;
-It can't be inspected 100% of mother reel. Not only because of cost/time, also since winding/rewinding will most likely cause some problem(destructive).