Effort technical file creation?

Vetty007

Involved In Discussions
Hi,

as a consultant, I always have discussions that the calculated effort for creating the technical file is far too high; this certainly varies greatly depending on the quality requirements and complexity of the product. I'm now having more and more problems, that I know how long the different tasks takes me to complete them, but I'm always amazed of the expectations of customers and I don't really enjoy it, to be almost insulted and supposed to be taking an artificially long time to performe the task, esp. as I even think to be very fast. The situation is therefore more than unpleasant for everyone and before I give up here, I would be interested in other assessments of what an acceptable amount of time is for creating a complete technical file (TD).

I usually estimate 300-350 hours including CER and everything around it, such as organization and meetings, so far this has usually worked out well. For a project with several files, I was told to offer it for 200 hours, but then this was even further reduced to only 100 hours. I then rejected to do the project several times as I considered it impossible to create a complete TD in that time. Unfortunately, I allowed myself to be persuaded, under the premise that everything would be kept as efficient as possible and that I would create all TDs. In the end, I came up with a kind of mixed calculation that was just acceptable for myself and then unfortunately got involved in the project. Well, actually I should have known, that the requirements and wishes are just as high, if not even higher (after all, the customer decided to commission one despite the price) for the "normal" price, despite they have a bargain price, and dissatisfaction is therefore pre-programmed.