Post-Interview Decision Making

A

apocalypse_pp

Hi,

I am a recent graduate and was interviewed for a position of Analyst at a small firm (50 employees, but planning to double its workforce). Four candidates were interviewed on the same day, and two of us happened to be from the same graduating class of the same university.

We were informed that the decision on our interview would be communicated to us within two weeks. However, the other candidate was offered a position on the very next day of the interview, whereas a decision on my candidacy has not yet been communicated to me.

Does such an incident indicate a negative work ethic of the company? Or is it that they are seriously reviewing my candidacy in terms of background check and will communicate once they have the relevant information?

The only thing I cannot understand is the delay in communicating a decision on my candidacy given the fact that the other candidate's decision has already been made. I still have a week's time with me according to the time frame given by the company to expect a decision on my candidacy.

Thanks for all your help

BradM

Leader
Admin
Hello there! And welcome to the Cove!

How do you know the other candidate was offered the position? Are you sure this is accurate? It is possible that the candidate offered the job was the "ideal" candidate, and they were for sure wanting to hire them. That does not at all mean you are not smart or valuable; just that they saw something they think is more valuable that the other candidates may not have.

If I were in your shoes, I would most definitely be in a dilemma. However, just because I am a "live by the rules" kind of guy, I would wait until the two weeks were up. That's an opinion thing; some others may offer you better (and wiser) advise.

I would most definitely be interviewing with other firms. If this company has less-than-professional recruiting/interviewing/hiring practices, there may be better companies to work for.

A