Kaizen Event - Which tools to use?

B

boothy10

Hi,

I seem to have been searching the forums for few nights now and the more I'm reading the more I seem to be getting confused :confused:

Just as a bit of background info, I am currently studying a home learning course in Quality Management. My next assignment is to manage a small project and demonstrate how I have used 'quality to improve business performance'. As my employer won't let me do this during work time, I will be carrying this out in 'theory'.

Through reading the course literature provided and looking through these forums I think I have a half decent understanding of most of the quality tools. My main problem I am finding is what to use them for and when?

Now in the place that I work we seem to have a 'bottle neck' for the process of hydro testing valves. Therefore I think this would be a good area to try improve/stream line and possibly reduce the time it takes to test the valves.

My plan is hold a 'Kaizen Event'. I've never done this before so I will list out my planned steps and hopefully you guys can give me some feedback.

Before Kaizen Event
-Pre Plan - Define scope, goals (SMART) and timeframe of Kaizen event, gain buy in from top management
-Small Presentation on what a Kaizen event is

During Kaizen event.
-Gather team - I will use a cross functional team in order to gain knowledge from all departments.​
-Collect data on current state by Value Stream Mapping - I will walk through the process and time how long it takes for each operation and try identify other causes of waste. Determining value added and non value added actions. Maybe use Spaghetti diagram or 5S​
-Brainstorm ideas on how to reduce waste, pareto the non value added actions​
-Decide on solutions and their ease/effect of implementation​
-Prioritise solutions​
-Implement improvement​
-Re-measure value stream mapping​
-Determine benefits & savings​
After
-Follow Up​
-Formalise new process​