Calculating Pp for Unilateral Tolerances

U

Ualfliers

I have a similar problem that involves PP & PPk - for unilateral tolerances.
> I have 30 wait times with USL of 30. I have averaged the 30 wait time at
> 8.76. For Pp would it just be 30/by 3.4 and for Ppk for unilateral
> tolerances - Ppu (upper) = (USL-Xbar)/(3*stdev) In my case would
> be(30-8.76)/(3 * Stdev) will this get me to my Ppk for Unilateral tolerance.
> My instructor said follow the model for Cpk for unilateral tolerance. I have
> been struggling with this, I do not do this for a living and work with no one
> that does this. Thanks

bobdoering

Stop X-bar/R Madness!!
Trusted Information Resource
Re: How to Calculate Process Capability for Unilateral Tolerances?

Can you post your 30 wait times? It would be handy to see what you are up against. Really, you have a de facto LSL of 0, but as a physical limitation the data will respond differently than a specified limitation (lets say a value of 15). The close you get to zero, the more non-normal it is. You are far enough from 30 that you may start to see some non-normality. I recommend doing a distributional analysis to see what you data's behavior truly is. It will NOT be "half of a normal (Gaussian) curve" - although that seems to be the estimate your instructor is leaning toward.

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator

when you have a unilateral tolerance with a natural bound such as Cycle time there is no rational Cp value or calculation.

This is one of those times - it appears - where your instructor isn't thinking; he or she is applying these indexes by rote. You migh tconsider gentling challenging them to understand How it cold be done and even what value add it might have in understanding the process

U

Ualfliers

Here is my problem - I am having a hard time calculating Pp for a Unilateral Tolerance my teacher says not calculate/report the Pp index (not concerned with centering). What should I do, stuck on this.