ATE (Automatic Test Equipment) "Gage" process for electronic modules?

I

IBATE

Newbie here. I am responsible for developing/maintaining ATE's for a number of complex electronic modules for product validation testing - not manufacturing. Little or no operator variation.

1) Is a gage R&R appropriate or would the process better be described as a Capability Analysis? ANOVA OK for this?

2) I cannot produce samples that consistently fall into lower/upper limits of the spec. range(s) due to cost, etc. How do I get around this?

3) Anyone have a process defined for this situation?

4) FMEA recommended to insure all out of spec. values are captured?

Appreciate any comments - I can't be the only one wrestling with this one.

S

Southern Girl

Can't address all of your questions, but I may have an answer for #2. I had the same problem with a test stand and trying to create samples that ran the spec range. What I did was to "fake out" the software by hooking my pressure calibrator to the transducer and applying whatever pressure I needed to test the software. The biggest thing we were trying to do was to make sure that the software would reject parts that fell outside the process parameters. We verified that the test stand, not only passed an R&R, but also would reject non-conforming parts. This worked great and our registrar (DNV) auditors loved it.

Since I don't know what you are testing, look to see if there is some way you can "generate" the parameters (reliably of course) you are testing for and see if that works.

Good Luck

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
IBATE said:
Newbie here. I am responsible for developing/maintaining ATE's for a number of complex electronic modules for product validation testing - not manufacturing. Little or no operator variation.

Welcome to the Cove :bigwave:

IBATE said:
Is a gage R&R appropriate or would the process better be described as a Capability Analysis? ANOVA OK for this?