Delegation of Quality Manager responsibilities

J

Juliasun

Friends,

I am a Quality manager in my Company.

I have to leave the Company for 4-5 months.
Does anybody have experience to whom I can delegate my responsibilities and how I can do it in effective way?

D

D.Scott

Well, whenever anyone here is on leave they dump their work on me so I guess you can just send it on over :>)

Do you have an organizational chart showing who is next in the quality line? Is there a statement of responsibility in the quality manual? Possibly there is a chain of command listed in the HR department or in the job description.

I think whatever your final course, it will be very tough to "be effective". After all, if you could run your company's quality department effectively without you, why would they need you in the first place? There will always be problems when you are gone and there will be a pile on your desk when you get back. Try to delegate to the person you feel will fill in as best they can and hope for the best. Give them as much help beforehand to enable them to know where to go for the answers that will eventually come up. Don't try to train them in everything. Give them lists of "who can help" or "where to look" for the answers. Hopefully, you will be reachable in emergencies but if not, agree with management who they want to be the decision maker (not the one who does the quality work but the one where the buck stops).

Good luck.

Dave

Antonio Vieira

Involved - Posts
Trusted Information Resource
You can be replaced only by some one that can fulfill almost all your functions as Quality Manager.
In other words, the person you choose must be competent on the basis of appropriate education, training, skills and experience. (as written in ISO 9001)
For sure you have your job description functions, and you must see if that person will be able to perform your functions.
This is in the ideal and perfect world. If not possible you must use Dave’s wise advices...