EU IVD Registration - Spain / Italy / France / Germany etc

F

fondantcookie

Hi all.

I am really new to RA and am struggling to get my head around medical device / IVD registration within the EU.

I work for a UK based Medical Device / IVD manufacturer and I have been asked to register a product for sale within the EU.

I have registered this device with the MHRA through their DORS website.

I understand that this now permits the product to be sold across all EU member states plus EAA and Switzerland - (Please confirm?)

However I have also heard that certain countries (ie France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Portugal and Spain) have additional registration requirements...

Please can anyone advise what I need to do on this. I have only been in RA for 3 months and am having very little assistance from my "manager" and am struggling with this request.

I've scoured the internet but the information seems so bitty and not very coherent (or maybe I am misunderstanding).

For info, the IVD I need to register is self-declared (so a low classification - please confirm ?? Haha).

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I sought help previously and I really feel this forum is going to be a valuable asset for me :)

chris1price

Trusted Information Resource
Re: PLEASE HELP ! EU IVD Registration - Spain / Italy / France / Germany etc

Welcome to the world of RA.

Once you have performed all the work needed for your device, then completed and signed your Declaration of Conformity saying you comply with the appropriate directive, you can start selling accross Europe.

However, for UK manufacturers of class 1 devices and IVDs, they need to be registered with MHRA through DORS. Manufacturers in other EU countries need to register with their local department of health (or equivalent).

IVDs that are not on List A or B or are for Self-Testing are self-certification and have no Notified Body review.