Philosophy and Quality!

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Leader
Admin
I recognize a number of points that were covered in my Organizational Leadership Masters program.

However, we must contend with the still-durable fact that the financial markets place a good deal of pressure on organizations' decisions and strategic imperatives. Among my clients I have noticed that those who "went private" now feel free enough to pursue objectives based on their philosophy and not the shareholder pressure.

For that reason I think that Matthew Stewart may be correct, but largely unappreciated. While financial market pressures prevail, philosophy takes a second place to financials which we sometimes call "bean counting."

P

perim

Interesting. I did my masters in philosophy, and ended up in QA.

To quote an Oxford philosophy course ad: "The study of Philosophy develops analytical, critical and logical rigour, and the ability to think through the consequences of novel ideas and speculations. It opens and stretches the mind by considering a wide range of thought and thinkers, on subjects as fundamental as the limits of knowledge, the nature of reality and our place in it, and the basis of morality."

There are many ways that such expertise could be beneficial in business.

However, I suspect that the article above confuses cause and effect a bit (confusing cause and effect is something you learn a lot about in philosophy). It is probably at least as much the case that smart people study philosophy, because it is so genuinely interesting to them, as that people become smarter by studying it.

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
The article is very poorly written, which could be due to the writer not being a native English speaker. Witness this paragraph: