Coordinate Measuring Machine Software Validation Process

cbearden

Involved In Discussions
Ok.....I'm the end user of a Coordinate Measuring Machine Software (PCDMIS by Brown and Sharp).......My question is about Software/Process validation.
In my mind, I just want to know that the Software is giving me the true results from my measurements........Plus, I want to keep it Simple (K.I.S.S)
So, here is what I want to do.......Take several known standards (Class 1 GageBlocks) and measure them. If the Software tells me that a 1" gageblock checks 1.000005", then I know its giving me correct results.......Software VALIDATED!!!!!!...........
Do you think this would be acceptable to an auditor?

Thanks,
ZeissUser

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
Re: Software Validation Process - Coordinate Measuring Machine

I am far from an expert, so others need to chime in here.

What you describe should already be covered by the calibration of the CMM. Most CMM calibrations involve the use of a Ball-Bar that covers the accuracy and volumetric accuracy.

I would be more concerned about the software routines like the distance between features, a bolt circle diameter created from multiple features etc.

However, most commercial CMM software should have been validated by the CMM manufacturer. If your registrar insists that you need it, you should be able to obtain this from the manufacturer.

Most registrars that I have run into on this issue are more concerned with the validation of test software that your company has written, or with highly configurable software to verify that you configured it correctly.

What have others experienced?

J

Jcowan - 2010

We ended up buying a NIST traceable Demo Block from Hexagon...

B

bradhaz

I work in aerospace and have been up against the same requirement(s).