Crossing from OHSAS 18001 to ILO OSH

H

hboussed

good morning,

so here is my problem, i'm a reliability engineer and now i'm in charge to lead an external audit for the count of a petroleum company.
they want to find the leaks in their IMS ( OSHSAS 18001 - ISO 9001 - ISO 14001) , the idea is to proceed separately ( by assessing each MS apart ) knowing that the chiefs have already shown a strong will to upgrade from OHSAS 18001-2008 to ILO OHS 2001 which is pretty much demanding.

my question is : how am i gonna proceed !! do you have any external audit check lists !! am i supposed to do some benchmarking before going down their pleaaaase i need your help !

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Leader
Admin
Welcome to the Cove!

I don't have any "canned" checklists that would help with an analysis like this one. I would use my turtle notes that I linked in the ISO 9001 Audit Checklist Excel .xls Template thread, go through the audits and look at the results. I would ask myself:

1) Is this same thing happening in other departments? That is, if there are people without updated training for example, is it happening all over the place or is it in just one department? Is the type of training involving more than one system?

2) What is the cause of the symptom I am seeing? Is the training need defined, or is it not being carried out, or is it just not getting recorded?

Definition + Implementation + Effectiveness = conformance to standards, in general. If there is systemic dysfunction, or "leaking" as you described it, the symptoms would be evident across the audits.

That does not mean I would do a Document Control or training audit separately for the systems unless the programs are independent for these groups.

It would be possible to score the audits and compare the systems side-by-side, but in my view a qualitative is/is not analysis would be adequate.

Does this help?

S

samsung