Supply Chain PPAP Requirements

G

gianni

I have been a quality professional in the automotive industry for over 20 years and have worked for a few different companies. Depending on the company the need for PPAP through the supply chain has always puzzled me. What I would like to hear from everyone is when a PPAP is required from your customer, do you request PPAP's from your suppliers? I have only had a few customers ask if I had a PPAP from our supplier. At the same time, no one has ever asked me to supply any documents from the suppliers PPAP, except maybe a heat treat control plan. I have also been asked for a signed PSW showing proof that I approved their PPAP. However, I cannot find anywhere in the AIAG PPAP manual how to handle suppliers in the 3rd or 4th tier level.

Are there hard rules about these requirements? Specifically including supplier documents in my PPAP to my customer?

Thanks!

Gianni

weakness

Starting to get Involved
It is about your company rules and your part specification.
You can use CQI-19 Subtier Supplier Requirement from AIAG .
Part specification is important.PPAP requirement changed according to:
  • If you have pass through characteristics,safety characteristics in your part.You have to demand from supplier all items.
  • If you supply batch material Supplier send imds,material data sheet,laboratory certificate and psw.
Of course you have to add your supplier documents into your ppap

Ninja

Looking for Reality
Trusted Information Resource

In my experience it is more driven by customer requirements than your own. Some customers insist on proof that you've flowed it up to your suppliers, some customers don't. Some don't even mention it.

G

gianni

You can use CQI-19 Subtier Supplier Requirement from AIAG .
Part specification is important.PPAP requirement changed according to:
  • If you have pass through characteristics,safety characteristics in your part.You have to demand from supplier all items.