Reference Numbers or Titles for a Nonconformance Report?

R

Rachelly

Hello folks,

Do most of you use a numerical naming for a Nonconformance Report? Like say for instance it's automatically given a number like a PO#....I am new to Quality Management but I am currently working somewhere where someone is giving names of the Nonconformance reports that include an acroynm of name where non-conformance was found followed by the order number that coinides with the non-conformance. This method worked well for one branch although I still think it is not a very good idea as it takes longer than just an automatic generation of a numerical reference for the NCR. We are now using a webware which generates a numerical reference as it tracks the location and all the other pertentent necessary items in an NCR to successfully track your non-conformances. We are using this persons method for now and I am really thinking its counter-productive and we are going to be using this webware by the middle of the year in several other branches. I am just nail biting and worried about this. :( Please let me know if this person is out of thier mind or do other companies use this method. Please let me know if it is unheard of and that these are just usually tracked by a reference #. Thank you forum and happy new year!

P

pldey42

I'd just use a simple sequential number.

Assigning a code based on where the NC was found risks encouraging a blame culture. And the area where the NC was injected into the process is often more useful to know than where it was found.

Assigning a code based on the order number presupposes that NCs can be related to just one order: how to deal with an NC that affects several or all orders?

And what if later analysis shows that while the NC stands, its originating department or order number turns out to be incorrect?