Has anyone ever been harmed by a CMM (coordinate measuring machine)?

J

John Nabors - 2009

I've recently begun working with a nice new Zeiss coordinate measuring machine (for my fellow CMM heads, it's a Contura G2 with an XXT scanning head and the Calypso software). It's a fantastic machine, I'm only beginning to understand how its capabilities far outshine any other CMM I have ever worked with, but it has one feature that drives me nuts: the manual controls go to sleep after one minute if I don't move the probe manually.

While discussing another issue with Zeiss tech support I asked the tech, "How do I turn this off? Where is the parameter I can change to at least move the timing of the sleep mode out to, say, 15 minutes?" His answer is that I cannot change this, that this is a safety feature mandated by OSHA.

My question is: has anyone ever heard of anyone being physically harmed in any way by a coordinate measuring machine? Those of us who use them have all certainly been mentally damaged by them from time to time, but has anyone ever in the history of CMM's ever actually been physically injured by one? And if anyone has been stupid enough for this to happen, isn't this safety feature interfering with natural selection at work?

Just curious.

Regards -John

CycleMike

Registered Visitor
You'll get used to pushing the "shift" button on the control whenever you sit down and start driving. It will become habit.

I've never heard of anyone getting actually injured by a CMM, but I was hit in the head once. I was watching our Zeiss scan a diameter real closely and then it made it's move to the next feature and clunked me right on the forehead. Thankfully, no one was watching.

J

John Nabors - 2009

CycleMike