"Shop-Floor Work Instruction" ? How important they are?

D

dmytry

"Shop-Floor Work Instruction" – How important they are?

Hi All,

My name is Dmytry Mykhaylov and I’m a software engineer. The thing is... I sort of "inherited" one project and I need to make a qualified decision about whether to shut it down or continue up to some final product. The objective of the project is to create an on-line service for "Process Plan" or the "Shop-Floor Work Instruction" generation. It may be considered as a light-weight web-based CAPP system for small workshops or, if my understanding of MES is correct, it may be considered as a part of MES.

Unfortunately, I'm absolutely unfamiliar with the problem area of the project. I mean... I do know how to do this project as a software developer, but I have no idea what it is all about! :) This is the first time in my practice when I have an absolute zero of knowledge, but have to use only my common sense. This is why I started to surf the Internet and eventually founded this wonderful forum.

Why does my common sense keep me searching? One moment about the core algorithm of this application tells me that it might be a really helpful and useful for somebody else:

• The algorithm doesn't depend on any specific equipment, tools, instruments, fixtures, coolant, etc. etc. – anything what might be needed to "perform" the proper work. Technically, if stone axe will be put in the "knowledge base" of the system – it will be treated as a regular "tool" and used appropriately when needed.
• First implication: user never refers to any "shop-specific" data when describes the future process (may be only except information regarding material, which may be in the shop-specific format or classification).
• Second implication: the same "process description" may be run against different sets of equipment (or "knowledge bases" of different shops) and every time the "shop-specific" process plan or work, instruction will be generated.

Limitations: