ISO 9001:2008 - Can I still conduct Internal Audits in my company?

J

jbarajas90

hi guys I have a few questions.

I am new to iso and just got certified for 2015. my company still abides to 9001:2008. my question is if I am certified in 2015 can I still conduct internal audits on my company that is 2008? or would that be a non conformance since I am not qualified to the 2008 standard

howste

Thaumaturge
Trusted Information Resource
Re: ISO 9001:2008 audit question

It sounds like you took an ISO 9001:2015 auditing class, and you want to know if you are qualified to audit to ISO 9001:2008.

The short answer is no, unless you have somehow learned the requirements of the 2008 version somewhere else.

The long answer is this: Your organization defines the requirements for qualification of internal auditors and to verify competence (2008 clause 6.2.2). If the only way you learned about ISO 9001 was in an ISO 9001:2015 class, you would not be able to demonstrate competence for the requirements of ISO 9001:2008. Your company should have defined internal auditor qualification requirements somewhere. You should ask whoever owns the internal audit process where it is documented. It can typically be found in an internal audit procedure, job description, etc.

Golfman25

hi guys I have a few questions.

I am new to iso and just got certified for 2015. my company still abides to 9001:2008. my question is if I am certified in 2015 can I still conduct internal audits on my company that is 2008? or would that be a non conformance since I am not qualified to the 2008 standard

My take is if you went thru formal 2015 training, you should be able to back track to 2008 as long as you can read/interpret the standard. Training is usually 2 elements. 1) how to audit and 2) what's in the standard. 1 is essentially transferable. 2 can be learned from reading the standard. The 2008 and 2015 are similar enough, you should be able to do it.

howste

Thaumaturge