A desperate call for help - IEC 62304 software

D

derDokuGuy

Hello,

I am a programmer in a small electronics company - which manufactures and developes small electronic devices for the industry. (for example controls of washing machines and all sorts of measuring devices etc.)

Over the last year we developed and programmed a control unit for a customer who now wants to sell his finished product as a medical device. (which was not intended in the first place:()

The customer wants to certify his product for IEC 62304 so he demands the required documentation of our software.

Im very overwhelmed what ive read about the requirements for complying with the IEC, especially doing so after the development is finished. (note: we have no quality management system or any documentation/information system in place - i'm one of two programmers in this company who were assigned to this task)

What ive understand, is that the product of our customer has to get verified for the IEC 62304 - now i want to know what exaclty is the minimum of documentation (software wise) that we need to supply to our customer - so he can get his product IEC 62304 ready?! (by the way the product is class B) (note: we just need to hand in the documentation about our simple c code from the control unit)

and yes - we and our customer are aware of the fact that doing this after the development is already done is a "little" like cheating nonetheless it needs to be done.

If its possible - would it even be achievable for us two programmers with little to no background knowledge about project/process management to fullfill this task (development time of the software was ~6-8months) in like 2-3 months? :magic:

Thanks you in advance! and also for the forum it already helped a lot to understand the very "basics" :thanx:

All the best. :bigwave: