Software QA - PROM revision level control - Boy am I out of my league!!!

barb butrym

Quite Involved in Discussions
Hi All you seasoned professionals. I have been around many years with a wealth of experience BUT software QA is not my expertise and I find myself with a problem and need guidance. I do know enough about software control to get by in most cases but it's not enough this time.

I work for a company that makes antenna systems or defense. We have many sister companies that we subcontract with for various stuff. One sister company provides boards with PROMs. the rev of software on those PROMS is the root of my problem. To complicate matters that sister sends directly to another sister which does their thing then sends back to us. I cannot seem to get a handle on revisions. The PROM has 4 (this is where I show my ignorance...I can only speak in what my small brain has deciphered from conversations.....) sub programs. Two of them cannot be changed, 2 can be. The sisters tell me they don't change anything, its a field option. BUT When we get the units here or worse at the customer we determine failures due to the software rev. The boards come with a document with a tag stating the as left revision. But it seems to me thats not enough. I want a label on the PROM itself. (they tell me I'm nuts) The software is supposed to be the same rev as the board, but my gut tells me otherwise.

Can anyone send me in the right direction or give me some options?
thanks in advance cause I know you guys and gals know lots more than me !!!!
Barb

Le Chiffre

This can be handled by controlling the 4 sub programs or the entire PROM contents (firmware) by version & revision number with checksum. Traceability records can be used to link the board's serial number with the "firmware" revision. I've resorted to this once the PROMs became too small to label.
The PROM has 4 sub programs. Two of them cannot be changed, 2 can be.