Design of Experiments (5 factors with 3 levels) - How to proceed with Minitab?

D

Don S.

Hello Quality Professionals,

I have very little experience with DOE's and I was wondering if I could get some much needed advice. I have been involved with a team to improve a process to find the optimum settings to ensure the process produces a product within specifications. The team has arrived at 5 factors with 3 levels for 3 of the factors and 2 levels for the other 2 factors. I find Minitab a little intimidating as I have not used that software for this purpose before. I was wondering if anyone could offer some advice with how to proceed with this experiment.

Thanks,

Don

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
Re: Design of Experiments

I have been involved with a team to improve a process to find the optimum settings to ensure the process produces a product within specifications. The team has arrived at 5 factors with 3 levels for 3 of the factors and 2 levels for the other 2 factors.

First question: Do you know for a fact that all 5 factors have a significant effect on the process? If not, start with a fractional factorial of the 5 factors at 2 levels. Keep the resolution of the design at IV or greater to identify main effects and 2-way interactions. This is called a screening design. It is used to reduce the number of factors to those that are significant.

Once the number of factors has been reduced, the next step is to run the modeling and optimization experiment. The best approach is to run a response surface design on the remaining factors.

Another possibility depending on your process is EVOP (Evolutionary Optimization of Process). This involves making small incremental changes and tweaking the process along the path of steepest ascent.

K

kaikai

There are many kinds of Experimental designs.
So, the suitable design is determined by considering various situations as mentioned by Miner.