A form becomes a record when data is entered

x-files

Involved In Discussions
Hi,

I have some incomprehensions about "forms", which is promoted by this statement:
--- ISO/TR 10013 - Guidelines for quality management system
documentation ---
3.2 form
document used to record data required by the quality management system
NOTE A form becomes a record when data are entered.

In short, why should a filled form always become a record?

For me, a form is a mechanism for entering data that forces a user to enter the expected data in STRUCTURED manner, so the document is complete at end, resistant to free arbitrage about what the document should include or should not include, without any intentional or unintentional pretermissions.

Yes, in most cases "form becomes a record when data are entered", like when someone fills Document control form (DCF).

But, can I have a form for "Master document list", and the document "Master document list". Is MDL a record?

Now, someone will say why should I have a form for MDL at all, because its just another document to control. Better to have just the MDL document, and the structure elements (columns) of MDL to be defined in the procedure, if necessary.

The answer is because we have many different/separate places, that have same type of lists to be maintained. By defining a form, we force all the users to have unique lists. And we want the lists to be unique.

The other question is what are TEMPLATES in QMS practice? (I saw many times listed: forms, templates, logs, letters... in the same hierarchy level) Is template a kind of form, or a form is a kind of template? What is the essential difference?

In many cases we found empty forms (table like) pretty useless. For example, CEO wants to announce a new Management representative. How? In our case it's not to be expected that he himself invents 20 sentences from scratch to announce new MR. He wants a "template" where he replaces NAME and DATE. End.