SBS - The Best Value in QMS software

4 Factors 3 Level DOE to determine which factors are significant

R

runvar

I am carrying out a DOE of experimental parameters to carry out experiments and determine which factors are significant for my experimental output.

The factors i have are voltage, duty factor, speed and gap and right now i have 9 iterations of the design.
I am new to Minitab and DOE and was wondering if what i have is correct or if i need to tweak it.
I have attached the spreadsheet with the iterations.
I have 2 output factors which i will measure after the experiments are done.
These will then be used to see which parameters affect the output favorably and non favorably.

Attachments

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Miner

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Admin
I recommend using a 2-level fractional factorial with center points. See attached.

This is a more efficient approach to screening. If you detect curvature, you can add axial points to convert this to a response surface design. A 3-level design cannot be converted to RSM in Minitab.

Attachments

R

runvar

Miner thanks for the amazingly quick reply. :)

I just wanted to clarify on my question since i feel i may not have worded it correctly.
I will carry out experiments with different iterations with the 4 input factors that i have mentioned (Voltage, duty factor, speed, gap).
The output i am considering is width and height of the deposition.
There is no optimal value that i am looking at since these experiments havent been carried out before. I assume that for width a certain value is good and any experimental values close to that i get will mean that i can use those experimental parameters as ideal for carrying out experiments in the future.
Similarly for height i will do the same. By the end of DOE my objective is to say these levels of input factors affect the output (width and height) to have a very high value or a low value or an optimum value.