SBS - The Best Value in QMS software

5S Coordinator (Long-winded) Job Title

5SThatArea

Hello everyone,

I have been a long time reader through college but now that I have finally entered the field this is my first time posting.

I am working for a manufacturing company who recently created the position of "5S coordinator". STOP Don't shoot me! lol, just kidding.

I have scoured the internet looking for any type of information or discussions from people holding this position or job title. From what I've gathered, this title typically falls as another "hat" of responsibility of an IE or QAE or is non-existent all together.

Though this is the start to my manufacturing experience, I come from a retail background with 8 years of supervisor and management experience before graduating from college. Through school as an IET major and TM minor, I implemented 5S throughout the retail environment I worked while in college. (Including other lean tools as well) Not knowing exactly the position I would hold coming out of school, it seems to have lined up nicely with where I am now. (As far as how to deal with resistance, upper and mid management commitment, buy-in etc..)

* I apologize for the length as this is a multi-facet question....:truce:

In the simplest description, the facility for which I hold the position now is far below "sea-level" as it relates to 5S all together. As-in general housekeeping is a daily struggle. Base-level staffing I'm guessing is around 350-400.