A strange question about predicate device selected in 510(k) submission

Ashley Fu

Starting to get Involved
Hello all, recently I come across a puzzling question about the predicate device.
That is, whether a device with different product code but same regulation number could be selected as a predicate device? you know, some product codes may point at specific loction of body, so the predicate device 's product code is definitely difficient with the subject device.
:unsure::unsure:Did somebody ever have similar consideration about this question? or do you think this predicate device could be available for 510(k)?

Swimming In The Soup

Involved In Discussions
From my experience. The challenge is showing Significant Equivalence. The further you deviate from equivalence, the more difficult it will be to get agreement from FDA.

yodon

Leader
Super Moderator
I'm not a regulatory expert but we've worked with companies whose regulatory consultants cited multiple predicates, ostensibly to cover where the first one did not.

Swimming In The Soup

Involved In Discussions
Hello all, recently I come across a puzzling question about the predicate device.
That is, whether a device with different product code but same regulation number could be selected as a predicate device? you know, some product codes may point at specific loction of body, so the predicate device 's product code is definitely difficient with the subject device.
:unsure::unsure:Did somebody ever have similar consideration about this question? or do you think this predicate device could be available for 510(k)?

Funny thing about product codes, they are the initials of the FDA person assigned to oversee the submission of a De Novo. They guide the creation of the risk classification and any special controls for that product code.

mihzago

Trusted Information Resource