Advice for the Implementation of a Lean/Six Sigma Program

Q to the M

Registered
Hello Everyone,
I'm new to the cove and I'm not sure how to post a question/thread...

I have been beating my head against the wall trying to define a clear way to implement a Lean/ Six Sigma program at my company.
We currently have a Lean class that covers 5S, The Seven Deadly Sins, Kaizen, Value Stream and Standard Work. I now want to add a Six Sigma portion which would include inside training (classroom, on-line, DVD) and outside training classes (certified trainer). I would then like the employees to take a test or execute a project, depending on the level of training. There should be a clear path to achieving a company certification (i.e. Yellow, Green or Black Belt). The goal is to provide each employee with the skills or enhance their current skill set, while applying these skills to projects that are part of the employee’s job and have been approved by management. I’m looking for a win-win program that satisfies everyone.

Does anyone have a success or failure initiative they would like to share? Anything I can learn would be beneficial. Thank you.

Jaret

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator
Re: In need of Advice for the Implementation of a Lean/Six Sigma Program

I moved your post to a new thread and welcome to the cove :bigwave:

here is my short list of most important things that I have learned (from the school of hard knocks)
  1. Content matters: be sure the material being taught is appropriate relevant and useful. Much of what gets passed off as ‘lean’ or ‘six sigma’ training is pabulum. Spend your money on trainers rather than on consultants who want to 'help' you with the deployment.