AGILE Project Management Process for Product Design

B

Betaride

I have been working for many years with the standard stage gate process flow and was recently asked to use more modern approaches.

After done some internet research, I have found some information about the agile project management process. But most implementation that I have seen where in SW projects, using RUP,extreme programming ...

NOW I tried to find out if any companies have successfully implemented that process in machine development projects (mechanic, electronic, process, ... ), not just in to the SW development path.

I would be very interested to hear a success story with details. :thanx:

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
D

DrM2u

Out of curiosity, have you looked at using MS Project of something equivalent? The PERT, GANTT and Critical Path are still valid methods for project management, depending on the project. I would also like to suggest a book called 'Critical Chain' by Eli Goldratt (the guy who came up with Theory of Constraints). The book is an easy read and provides another perspective to project management.

Pancho

wikineer
Super Moderator
Agile project management is a technique suitable for products that can improve incrementally and continuously: documentation and software, for example. Features rule. Teams implement the higher-value features first so that the client can have a usable product as fast as possible. Then, with a working product, the next feature or small set of features is targeted.

Anyone perfecting a documentation system with continuous improvement is using APM even if they don't call it that. And software development using "frameworks" or "scaffolding" (Rails, CakePHP, etc.) is naturally APM since you can get a working system very quickly. But I think that traditional project management is more suitable for hardware and construction. It is difficult to construct a building feature by feature.

This article has a good description of APM.