Analysis of failing parts - Mining equipment distributor

B

Bruce123

Hi everybody, This is my first time ever using a forum so I hope it works. I'm trying to work out some things in excel but having great difficulty. I work for a mining equipment distributor and I'm trying to analysis some failing parts we are having with our machines. If possible would you be able to help me on a few issues.
I have attached a file with the data and what I'm trying to accomplish.

Attachments

• Sample.xls
    13.5 KB · Views: 229

Wes Bucey

Prophet of Profit
Frankly, I think I would look at a root cause for the failures before implementing a statistical analysis. Are the bolts ALL performing the same function (as in a conveyor chain?) Are the bolts failing the same way (shearing? coming unscrewed from the nut or the fixture? unknown because they are popping out and lost in the mined material?)

Without an investigation into the root cause of the failure, the analysis you propose will only add numbers to a problem you already know you have; it will do little to help you reduce or eliminate the problem.

Once you know the causes (there are probably several - I can imagine the shearing or abrading on the bolts holding the teeth of the mining equipment as it digs into the workface of the substrate or bolts vibrating loose elsewhere on the equipment from the regular or random vibration), you can do a statistical analysis focusing on each of the several causes to determine a maintenance schedule to examine and replace bolts which show excessive wear, distortion prior to shearing or loose from vibration to maximize the uptime BEFORE failure puts an unexpected halt to operations.

Note there are two courses of action available:
  1. establish a schedule of routine maintenance to inspect and replace bolts before failure hinders operations
  2. examine the causes of failure and reduce or eliminate the number of events by using a different bolt or fastening method.
Afterthought: