Annual PPAPs - Keeping Up with Hundreds Of Customers And Hundreds Of Part Numbers

J

jager

Hi all,
I am a layout technician in a job shop. We have hundreds of customers and hundreds of part numbers. Certain customers require us to send annual PPAP submissions, meaning, for my end of it, layouts and cap studies. Some customers require 6 pieces laid out, others require between 1 and 5. The list is growing. I counted about 1000 layouts if all the parts ran every year, thank goodness they don't, but there are still so many to keep track of. One of my problems is that our company may be running 40 jobs at one time on presses and other machinery. It is difficult to gather parts constantly, lay them out, have minor dimensions corrected, layout the parts again to make sure they are in conformance, then also keep up with other quality PPAPs from new tooling, checking parts for production setups, and helping with other quality issues.
If any of you deal with Annual PPAPs, how do you make sure you don't miss parts that are running, get your submissions out on time, etc.? Another big problem I have is finding that parts have been processed and neatly boxed up and put into inventory before I know they have even been ordered. I am not too popular when I open a box in shipping and take parts out making the box a "part box" that is no longer able to be shipped. I know a lot of obvious steps I could take if I had the authority, but I am chasing my tail daily, not just doing layouts, but finding parts to lay out. I love my job, but have had a hard time keeping up. ANY SUGGESTIONS for me? It is getting crazy! Thank you so much for any ideas.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Howard Atkins

Forum Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Re: Annual PPAPs - keeping up

You seem to have an impossible job!

You need some how to get directly connected to production planning so that there is a flag every time a part is produced after a year.

I am sorry that I have no real tools to help.

J

jager