SBS - The best value in QMS software

Apple Watch is not a medical device. How can this be possible?

François

Involved In Discussions
Hello all,

After the FDA clearance, it seems that Apple has obtained the CE certification for its ECG App. However, I'm surprised that the Apple Watch is not considered as a medical device by Apple or their Notified Body.

I wonder how this has been justified since the Apple watch should be considered as an accessory according to the MDR or the MDD and have the same classification as the software.

What could have been their strategy to avoid having the hardware certified by their Notified body? I'm really interested by your takes on this. Like I said in a previous thread, I'm not an expert in regulatory affairs so I can't figure how they've managed this.

For info: I've attached their IFU (Not really nice symbol resolution or cropping by the way).

Attachments

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Ronen E

Problem Solver
Staff member
Their strategy? Being Apple.
It ties up nicely with the FDA creating their special program for "select" SW Manufacturers.

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
Marc Informational Apple Tells App Developers To Disclose Or Remove Screen Recording Code World News 0
BradM Class action lawsuit against Apple - iPod Software updates - 2006 thru 2009 After Work and Weekend Discussion Topics 2
bobdoering Finally, evidence that people are starting to care about Apple computers After Work and Weekend Discussion Topics 7
Marc Apple?s First "iPhone" - 1983 After Work and Weekend Discussion Topics 0
Marc Apple preparing to deliver iPad twins with 9.7-inch screens (rumor) After Work and Weekend Discussion Topics 0
Marc How Apple stays Ahead in Component Technology After Work and Weekend Discussion Topics 0
Marc Apple - 35 Years Old - Remembering the Apple I After Work and Weekend Discussion Topics 4
Marc Apple I Auction: Historic PC Could Fetch Over $160K After Work and Weekend Discussion Topics 0