APQP Scope and scale tool

g_dep1

Starting to get Involved
Hello,

I work in the aerospace industry where APQP is slowly being introduced. A big point of contention is how applicable/appropriate allocating resources upfront for APQP activity is.

Are there any tools available to help justify allocating resources and budget for APQP activity during bid phase for a new contract? For example, if the program is just to modify an existing product/design, I find it difficult to allocate a large number of engineering man hours to conduct a DFMEA (keep in mind, APQP is new for the company and there are no existing DFMEA records for all our products). However if this is a brand new product we're designing, it would make sense to allocate resources. Program management throws out questions/comments like "hey, how do we develop an APQP-lite version? A lot of what you're describing isn't applicable to us since this is a mature design already?"

I'm hoping to develop an excel based tool to help in the Basis of Estimates for APQP budgeting and resources based on product/design complexity, schedule risk, supply chain risk (i.e. sole source), etc.

What are some variables/ factors I should consider for such a scope and scale tool for APQP application? Does any forum members have templates for what i'm describing above which may assist?

Thanks for the help!

Last edited:
Elsmar Forum Sponsor

g_dep1

Starting to get Involved
Your leadership apparently loves the analysis paralysis scenario.
Very valid observation! I mentioned in past posts that there is more of a superficial support or lip-service in regards to APQP deployment on new product development aerospace programs. Our program managers are trained to approach basis of estimates for new programs with as little operational support as possible. Our operations leadership is pushing for APQP deployment, but there seems to be a gap between both coins of leadership when it comes to funding for these initiatives.