SBS - The Best Value in QMS software

Are GLP required for testing cytotoxicity and soil remaining after sterilization of MD?

MrTetris

Involved In Discussions
Hi all,
I admit that I am completely new to this topic (biocompatibility and good laboratory practices in general), so I hope to find some help here.
We need to perform a cytotoxicity + soil residuals test on a externally communicating device with limited patient contact (i.e. ≤ 24 hours).
We referred to a test lab, and with a bit of surprise we received this question (from the lab itself): should the lab follow GLP? (of course, price would change if we allow them not to follow GLP) :)
Now, to be on the safe side from a quality point of view my answer would be "yes, of course", but since it is money that makes the world go round, I need to bring some tangible evidence to my colleagues to support my answer.
Why (from a QA/RA point of view) should we ask the lab to follow GLP for such a case?
Where is it recommended/prescribed?
Any suggestion can be very valuable.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

JJ_FDA

Involved In Discussions
If the data will be submitted to a regulatory agency as part of the approval package for your device, your answer is likely to be "yes." You should probably talk to the agency in question.

planB

Super Moderator
Cytotoxicity testing is typically done in the framework of ISO 10993-1:2018, which says in section B.4.5.2:

Good laboratory practice
[...] Quality systems controls applicable to non-clinical testing are known as Good Laboratory Practice (GLP). GLP studies are carried out to defined quality standards in laboratories that are accredited in line with an internationally implemented governmental scheme. Typically studies will be conducted under a laboratory quality system compliant to ISO/IEC17025 or an equivalent standard.
The latter (i.e. ISO 17025 accreddation) may also be the preferred evidence that you could ask the lab for the test on residual soil.

HTH,

chris1price