Are pipette heads "medical devices"?

andrei iuganu

Involved In Discussions
Hello group. I'm a beginner in this field anyway, so I'm asking for your help. I have the following situation: a manufacturer injects pipette heads, the storage rack, box and thebox lid. They sell as a final product the box with rack, pipette heads and lid. My questions are:
Hello group. I'm a beginner in this field anyway, so I'm asking for your help. I have the following situation: a manufacturer injects pipette heads, the storage rack box and the head. They sell as a final product the box with rack, pipette heads and lid. My question is: are pipette heads "medical devices"? for the final product what type of label do I need? UDI ID? I am very confused by the terminology.

Thx in advance.

Ninja

Looking for Reality
Trusted Information Resource
Howdy,

I'm not in medical, so I'll let someone who is answer your direct question.
It occurs to me, however, that not being in medical, I use pipettes and buy the product you describe for wet chemistry analysis (Na+ content, etc.).

I don't think you can draw the line all the way up at "A pipette head is/is not"...the line would have to be a bit closer to intended use or customer segment.

We'll both learn from someone who knows soon.

chris1price

I think you can safely say they are not Medical Devices. However they may fall under the In-vitro Diagnostic Regulation (IVDR). It depends what they are intended to do. Check the definitions under Article 1 of the IVDR. If the pipette heads are general purpose products, ie are not directly linked to a specific IVD then they are not covered by the regulation. If the pipettes are intended for a specific diagnostic kit, then they are covered.

The easiest way is to look at a competitors product. If the label contains a CE Mark, then they are covered by the regulation or directive. If that's the case, then there are lots more questions to be answered.

William55401

Quite Involved in Discussions