AS9100 Lead Auditor Requirements

B

Bob the QE

I am new to the AS world and fairly new to Elsmar, so if this question has been posted and answered I apologize in advance.
In investigating the world of AS Registration a couple of requirements/principals of the registration process have surfaced maybe an experienced or "Certified" AS Auditor could shed some light on these for me:

a) Does AS Certification as a lead auditor require that you come out of the aerospace industry? If so which document lays out this and other requirements? Would this be in ISO10011-2:1991?
b) In the ISO world of certification it is in the registrars authority to view "minor non-conformances" as continual or continuous opportunities and reviewable on future audits. Thus allowing certification to take place prior to the CA's verification taking place. AS doesn't allow this? All minor non-conformances, not findings, need to be addressed prior to the certification being issued, is this correct?

Thanks in advance

J

Jeff Frost

Bob,

In general if you are planning to work for a registrar, than experience in the aerospace industry is a requirement. Most training organizations (only my experience) typically issue certifications worded something like “RABQSA – Certified ISO 9001:2000 Lead Auditor Training with AS9100 Aerospace Auditor Training”.

The actual sector control of the registration/audit process is controlled by ISO 19011:2002, Guidelines for quality and/or environmental management systems auditing and AS9104, Requirements for Aerospace QMS Certification/Registrations Programs.

Findings of nonconformity or possible nonconformity are controlled as follows:

Major – Total breakdown of absence of a QMS element specified by the standard.

Minor – Single failure or lapse in the system.