AS9100D, Clause 8.4.1.1d - actions to take when external providers do not meet requirements

LincolnQA

Starting to get Involved
Good afternoon. I'm new to AS9100 and this site. My company provides a service to DoD in the form of manpower...Our work is with the Military and we receive parts through the military supply system. Does anyone have recommended actions to take when my supplier, the military, doesn't meet my requirements? We just went through our certification audit and we received an NCR for not addressing Clause 8.4.1.1d. We didn't address it because our customer provides the products we use. We just install them into aircraft. Any recommendations would be appreciated. Thank you.

Michael_M

Trusted Information Resource
So how does your company define 'What is required"? The clause states that you shall "define the necessary actions to take when dealing with external providers that do not meet requirements". What are the defined requirements and where they carried out when your external supplier did not meet requirements?

Follow up questions based on possible answers:
1. why did you not take the required action when the supplier did not meet the requirement:
...a Is the criteria too stringent and are you requiring too much?

Randy

Super Moderator
It's called doing a QDR, Quality Deficiency Report. I literally wrote a ton of those and that's all you can do. If it deadlines or makes what you're doing unsafe or un-usuable then report the higher risk category. Each branch has it's own process, like the Army has Army Regulation (AR) 702 – 7

LincolnQA

Starting to get Involved
So how does your company define 'What is required"? The clause states that you shall "define the necessary actions to take when dealing with external providers that do not meet requirements". What are the defined requirements and where they carried out when your external supplier did not meet requirements?

Follow up questions based on possible answers: