AS9102 FAIR - Customer Drawing Revision Change

T

TRBOKEV

Greetings to everyone, this is my first post on this forum.:bigwave:

I was wondering if I could get a little input into an issue that has come up in regards to my first article system. I work in the fastener industry and we have a large amount of first articles on file. (Well over 2000 and climbing every day).
I have read that most companies create new first articles if a new revision to the customer drawing is released. My problem or issue with this is that there may be a revision change of the customers drawing and a large portion of the time it will be a non-technical change. An example would be that they change the format only of the page, or they may add another approved vendor to the page etc..
Would something like this require that I perform all new first articles? Could I simply make a new page 1, use the old page two and three and include the new print with bubbles as objective evidence of conformity?
Thanks in advance for your help and feedback.

Big Jim

Admin
If you are dealing with the first article requirements for AS9100C, the pertinent portion of the standard is the second half of element 7.5.1.1:

"This process shall be repeated when changes occur that invalidate the original results (e.g., engineering changes, manufacturing process changes, tooling changes)."

Pay particular attention to ". . . that invalidates the original results . . . ". If it doesn't invalidate the original results, you need do nothing.

If you are dealing with AS9102, that wording is more extensive. Be aware that AS9100C does not require that you adhere to AS9102. Your customer may though.

The pertinent portion here is AS9102 element 5.3:

"5.3 Partial or re-accomplishment of First Article Inspection