Audit Finding on 6.2.2 - Education Requirements not Verified

A

ACIQualityGuy

We recently went through our stage two audit and passed! :D

Of course the auditors had a minor finding, and I'm having a hard time understanding how we can meet the requirement while still adding value, can you help?

The job description for my position indicated that I have 3-5 years experience and a technical degree. We didn't have a copy of my diploma on file and don't have one for any of our employees for that matter. It was on this basis that he wrote us up, see below:

Details:
Appropriate records of education, training, skills and experience are not effective.

Requirements:
6.2.2 Competence, training and awareness
The organization shall
a) determine the necessary competence for personnel performing work affecting conformity to product requirements,
b) where applicable, provide training or take other actions to achieve the necessary competence,
c) evaluate the effectiveness of the actions taken,
d) ensure that its personnel are aware of the relevance and importance of their activities and how they contribute to the achievement of the quality objectives, and
e) maintain appropriate records of education, training, skills and experience (see 4.2.4).

Objective Evidence:
Reviewed the job description for the Quality Control manager and the education section requires a degree in a technical field, but they don't have any evidence of the document in their files.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We've gone through our job descriptions and added "preferred" to the education and skills requirements so that we can have some flexability in who we hire.

We're also adding a note in all current employee files indicating that they've been grandfathered in (we aren't going to ask all current employees for a copy of their diploma/call their previous employers to verify their experience).