Backorders and delayed packages complaints?

C

closdebois09

Hello everyone!

First time posting, but long time Elsmar viewer. I've just recently taken a role where I am responsible for overhauling a companies complaint handling processes. Problem is, I've no experience with complaint handling and no one in the company knows anything about complaints. They have a BSI finding that needs to be resolved so that's why I am here.

I'm excited for the learning opportunity but and have made quite a bit of progress. In review of our complaint trending and assessment of our case types, I've been asked if 'backorders' and 'delayed packages' meet the definition of a complaint.

We define a complaint as:
Any written, electronic, or oral communication that alleges deficiencies related to the identity, quality, durability, reliability, safety, usability, effectiveness, or performance of a device after it is released for distribution. The following criteria applies:
• Returns are generally considered to be complaints. However, obvious handling damage or abuse beyond normal handling or wear & tear is not considered to be a complaint.
• User error is considered to be a complaint.
• Packaging or labeling errors are considered to be complaints.
• Customer activities that are conducted prior to distribution, such as ordering errors, are not considered complaints.

I don't feel that a backorders or delayed packages (in most cases) would qualify as complaints, but given my lack of experience in this arena, can you please provide some insight?

Thanks!

:popcorn:
MR

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

RoxaneB

Change Agent and Data Storyteller
Super Moderator
I don't see the source of the written, electronic, or oral communication cited within your definition, so it's difficult to answer if backorders or delayed packages would qualify as a complaint.