Bad Parts cause Customer line stop

Graciel

Involved In Discussions
Hello.
Did someone have a situation caused by bad parts from your process that caused customer line stop? Can you share how this experience was and if something was made to avoid it.
Thanks.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Staff member
Admin
I am currently a Supplier Quality Engineer for medical devices and see (too) many "line down" situations caused by parts issues, some of which were my suppliers.

The worst case involved flaws in painted molded PVC enclosure parts: namely the front cover, which is like automotive in that customers perceive quality in part on appearance of the portion of the unit they see every time they perform a procedure with it. I spent 2 weeks in the supplier's Minnesota plant in mid-December, part of which was at the (outsourced process) paint shop that applied the finish.

In the end, the corrective action was to fire that subcontractor and go back to their previous one, which added lead time due to its distance but so it is.

Johnnymo62

Haste Makes Waste
Because you have posted in the IATF 16949 section, I assume you are shutting down a Tier 1 auto manufacturer.

This was very expensive, hurt my former company's reputation and was very stressful. I recommend doing everything you can to avoid the situation.

We had to pay the expense of hand delivering good parts across Michigan to the Detroit plant. There was also the cost of paying for rework in the yards at the plant. Fortunately, Ford found the issue before they put vehicles on trains which would have been a huge cost.

We also had to warn all other assembly and engine plants to 100% verify the condition did not exist on similar parts. This was charged to us also.

It cost around $325,000. It could have been much more expensive. We were able to get a little back from our sub-supplier but it was months of negotiations and hassle.