Becoming a successful manager of a spacecraft company

Hey everyone! I'm a newbie here, this is my first discussion.
I would like you to share your tips or lifehacks on how to become a successful manager in spacecraft indusrty nowadays. Examples of famous leaders are welcome.

I shall begin: in my opinion firstly you should be innovative and quiet open hearted person, therefore people will pay their attention to you

Last edited:
Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Leader
Admin
Welcome Kevin!

Is this a class assignment?

I have always found it is important to listen before speaking, but even more to truly and seriously consider what is being offered. Resist the urge to summarily dismiss inputs, no matter how much more one thinks (s)he knows about the subject than the other. Perceptions are also important.

I will rephrase my quiestion to you: have you had experience with start-uping any engineering company? What should be the first thing to begin?
For example, I want to start creating rocket engines
What type turbine or recip? Opposed or radial? Any experience with any or all? You can't effectively manage what you don't know about yourself.

Sidney Vianna

Post Responsibly
Leader
Admin
What should be the first thing to begin?
For example, I want to start creating rocket engines
And you would try to compete against the Raptor family of engines developed by SpaceX? Unless you have an extremely novel concept with unimaginable specific thrust AND BILLIONS of dollars to fund the R&D, I think you would be at a huge disadvantage. Much better to develop stable Element 115 that allows for gravity field manipulation and terminate our dependence on chemical based thrust propulsion.

Good luck.

Randy

Super Moderator
What type? Solid, Liquid, Hypergolic, Ion, Solar Thermal, Nuclear Thermal there are multiple types for many different purposes some even theoretical like Anti-Matter.