Best practice for identifying "items" of parts for DFMEA analysis

DuncanGibbons

Involved In Discussions
Hi All

Firstly is the DFMEA applicable to parts or only components and systems?

If applicable, what is the best practice for isolating/identifying items of a part for DFMEA analysis? I'm trying to apply DFMEA to a complex bracket, would things like the bolt holes, support struts etc. be classified as items within the DFMEA?

Thanks

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

yodon

Staff member
Super Moderator
Not sure what the current-thinking is in the aerospace world (my background is mostly medical devices) but since nobody has weighed in yet, I'll toss in my thoughts.

What happens if the bolt holes are too big or too small? What if the support struts fail? I would guess a lot would depend on the situation but the whole idea behind the FMEA (including DFMEA) is to consider all failure modes and ways the failures can be realized. If such questions aren't addressed in the DFMEA, where would they be considered?

tahirawan11

Involved In Discussions
Hi,

We are in the business of developing professional cleaning equipment. During the development phase, we agree on the FMEA of scope and mostly our new products are an update to the existing machine. Therefore we include below item in the FMEA scope.
1. New components or interfaces​
2. Modified components or interfaces​
3. Components with higher failure rate from field (if applicable)​
Interfaces could be very important to include as many times the failures happen at the interface.

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
R Bill of Materials for a complex product - Industry best practice ISO 13485:2016 - Medical Device Quality Management Systems 2
M Best Practice for setting tolerances on a Drawing Inspection, Prints (Drawings), Testing, Sampling and Related Topics 8
bio_subbu NBOG Publishes revised best practice guidance documents (Nov 2014) EU Medical Device Regulations 1