Book for SPC Short Run - Recommendations

S

Stevenli

Folks,

For current manufacturing environment, tradtional SPC approach may not be suitable for many industries, especial for high mix, low volume. So I am studying some more appropriate methods.

So does any buddy can recommend some good books of this topics? I search from Amazon and found some short run SPC book, it looks like a little bit old as it's back to 20 years ago. Not sure whether all contents are updated.

Thanks
Steven:D

P

Popeos

Re: Book for SPC Short Run

Hi Stevenli

Are you sure you need SPC for this process ? It is not the only way to ensure conformance, and if you have a high mix, I might go for 100% inspection, depending on what you check.

SPC is for Process control. If your process parameters are always changing from one part to another, they might be auto-checked. If that is the case, and linked to frequent changes, I don't see how you will be able to do SPC.

(I am not an SPC expert though)

Regards

Popeos

D

Darius

short run SPC book

I have the book wich touches the topic

Innovative Control Charting: Practical SPC Solutions for Today's Manufacturing Environment by Stephen A. Wise and Douglas C. Fair.

Short Run as you said is a new way to do SPC, so not every stats book deal with it.

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin

Folks,

For current manufacturing environment, tradtional SPC approach may not be suitable for many industries, especial for high mix, low volume. So I am studying some more appropriate methods.

So does any buddy can recommend some good books of this topics? I search from Amazon and found some short run SPC book, it looks like a little bit old as it's back to 20 years ago. Not sure whether all contents are updated.

Thanks
Steven:D

Innovative Control Charting: Practical SPC Solutions for Today's Manufacturing Environment by Stephen A. Wise and Douglas C. Fair.

Short Run as you said is a new way to do SPC, so not every stats book deal with it.