Building an AS9100 QMS (Quality Management System)

M

macshopkid

Hello everybody. First let me say that this forum incredibly informative (maybe a little too informative as I can get lost soaking up information and advice.)

I was recently put 'in charge' of implementing a QMS so that the shop I work at could become AS9100 certified. I have an engineering degree but am only 23 and have ZERO experience in quality management systems, AS9100, or anything that relates to it. (So, I basically have no idea what I am doing or where to begin.) I have been doing research for the past couple weeks and I am slowly gaining a basic level of understanding and this forum has really been helpful so far.

Here is a little bit of background info about the company: it is a small machine shop (7 or 8 employees) that mostly deals with manufacturing CNC models or molds for prototypes. We manufacture things for loads of customers in many different fields but our main customers are aerospace companies. These companies are suggesting (pushing) our shop to get AS9100 certified for obvious reasons. That being said we currently have no QMS in place and no one who has any experience in dealing in quality, process control, internal auditing, etc.

I have a thousand questions but I want to begin with the basics. Does anybody have ideas on a good place to start? Right now I am planning on taking a intro to AS9100 course to fill in the gaps in what I already know (or think I know). I have read all sorts of advice but feel it would be helpful to hear some pointed directly at me. I feel confident that I can climb this mountain but some Sherpa's climbing ahead of me sure would help!

Thanks in advance for all the great advice!

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Sidney Vianna

Post Responsibly
Staff member
Admin
Re: Building a QMS