Building the QMS (Quality Management System): Getting Started

J

jbrelle

Dear all,

I'm new here in the Cove, registered 1 month ago and I've been reading many topics so far, even though I feel like I haven't even started to see the top of the iceberg... Please apologize for my bad English, I'll do my best to be understandable! As my post title says, this is about getting started with the QMS, and by this I really mean GETTING STARTED :rolleyes: Let me explain: I am not a quality expert at all, no experience in this field, I've been working in a R&D lab developping new alloys so far, and untill now "Quality" was for me the boring guy with useless requirements :notme: Now I joined what I considered as the dark side of the Force and I will try to be a useful guy with very helpful requirements leading the continuous improvement! Here is the situation: we are a very young (little more than 2 years old) company, fast growing (19 people, probably around 25 at the end of the year), and of course with absolutely NOTHING set for the QMS so far. Which means I have to figure out how I will start building the QMS :confused: First of all, as I told you, I'm not an expert at all, and I will try to improve a little at the beginning of next month by attending a 3-days intensive course on ISO 9001 in services companies. I will probably attend another course in June, more specific to what we plan to obtain, i.e. the DIN EN 9120 certification (maybe I should have started saying that, but again, so difficult to know where is the first step!). Well, that was a long speech, sorry for that, I hope there are still some of you reading at this point :bonk: Maybe the last word to explain what we do: we're buying titanium products from our mother company and selling them to our subsidiaries all around the world, with a large majority of aerospace applications. We are only doing "paper job", meaning that the material is delivered directly to the subsidiary. We are dealing with sales and purch